Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Nov 17, 2006, 9:30 PM   #1

Back in the stone age '80s I had a Pentax ME Super with lots of lenses, bounce flash, etc.. It was great! I think I'm on my 4th digital camera now. Last 2 were a Sony DSC-F717 and now a Canon A610. The DSC-F717 was to big to walk around with in some 3rd world countries I go to, so I got the A610.

Now I'm up to wanting a real flash. I remember using a mini-tripod on the ME Super, on a table taking indoor shots 70' away using a nice external flash and the subject didn't even know I was shooting them. I also miss a great zoom.

I'm not a pro. 8x10 would be a big print for me, and I'd only be printing them on Xerox Phasers at work.

I'm not really keen on using a bracket like the Digi-3000 on a non-shoe camera would need, so I'm wanting something with a shoe on it.

If I keep the NR at low will the Panasonic FZ50 be ok? With a beasty bounce flash I should be able to keep my ISO down to 100-200 and not get a lot of noise right? I've never had a camera with image stabalization, and I'm getting old and shakey, so that idea excites me! So is the FZ50 a good choice? Anything better? What's a good flash for it? Digi-3000, or since it has a shoe is there something better?

I miss doing double exposures with film. Digi cams can't do that right? Is that called photoshop now?

Sorry for all the questions from a geezer. I didn't mean to write a tome.. - Joe
JoeLansing is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Nov 18, 2006, 2:15 AM   #2