Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Nov 18, 2006, 4:45 AM   #1

Hi all.

After wasting time and money on a Kodak P850, I've decided to go DSLR.
Not just yet, maybe after Xmas......

Anyway, I like the look (and price!!) of both the Canon 400D and Nikon D40.
Which one would be best?

I'm pretty new to photography, so I apolagise if I should know the answers!!!

andy_fozzy is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Nov 18, 2006, 7:01 AM   #2

The D40 was just announced a couple of days ago, and not yet available, nor have there been any reviews of production models. The D40 is going to be cheaper and likely will have excellent IQ, but will likely have less advanced features than the Canon. If you need a camera now, the Canon will be your only choice. If you can wait, see what folks have to say about the D40 before taking the plunge.
rjseeney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 18, 2006, 10:59 PM   #3

i've heard that the nikon d40 won't be able to take second party lenses, like sigma or tamron...is this true? i don't want to start a rumour so i would just like someone to set me straight

personally, if the d40 doesn't take second party lenses, i would probably go for the nikon d50. i've had a play around with it and the photos are amazing! but i'm a nikon girl myself, so it's really up to you.
Taraelf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 19, 2006, 5:21 PM   #4