Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Nov 21, 2006, 3:50 PM   #1

I'm new to this. Please excuse if I misuse terms; however, this information may be useful to you. I focused on these new models (pun intended):

Aiptek Zoom DV - 3x Optical Zoom w/ Auto Focus ($199) and Mustek DV 5600 Digital Video Camcorder ($199 without the dock). Both provide similar features and some accessories bundled at this time, have 30 frames/sec, MPEG-4, multifunctionality, zoom, audio (WAV & MP3), & improved low light performance with stabilization.

Part of my evaluation compared customer support & service from each company, their ability to answer technical questions, locate information and communicate procedures.

Mustek does not post their phone online, however, it comes with their product. I called 2 times, since my first call was disappointing, to give them a fair chance. Both calls were routed to India, which is not a problem in itself. However, it appeared that the technical support guys were not knowledgeable with the product line, did not have direct experience with the product, the 2nd person hung up on me andthey were both unable to locate information related to basic features. I think English was a 2nd language, and the first person had difficulty understanding my questions (maybe it was my Chicago north side accent?). I think it was lack of training. In general, India is the technology center of the world now. Front line customer service training / experience has not caught up with demand in this case.

Aiptek customer service is still in the USA and the call answered promptly. The contact/support information is posted on the website. Their policy is to give the customer as much time as they need for questions and "how to" instructions at no charge. I like this feature. The person I spoke to was pretty knowledgeable.