Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Nov 30, 2006, 10:04 AM   #1

I'm looking to purhcase a new camera for hobby outdoor stationary and mobile objects (animals, landscape) as well as indoor and outdoor portrait shooting.

I have some old film SLR experience, but never owned a digital one. I've been trying to decide between an ultrazoom and a dSLR. I have an old (15-20 years) standard canon lens, and have access to a canon zoom lens (don't know the numbers). I'd like to reuse those lenses.

Anyway, I like the low price, high zoom, and adjustable features of the ultra zoom cameras, but I understand that the digital SLRs are much higher quality, as in they can capture pictures more quickly, have less grain at higher ISO levels, are generally higher quality, are easier to manually focus, have exchangable lenses etc...

The problem I have is that I really don't want to spend more than 500 dollars, and I'd prefer to spend less than 350. I know I can get an excellent ultra zoom for under 300, but if I want to buy an SLR I'll have to spend at least 500.

Can somebody give me a rundown of the differences between the ultra zooms and entry level Canon dSLRs? My real concern is cost and the fact that if I spend money on an ultra zoom I'll have a whole package I can use whereas with an SLR I'd have to buy lenses and other peripherals.

Also if possible can somebody suggest a year or two old dSLR body, maybe 4-5 megapixels, that might be cheaper than the more recently released dSLRs? (it seems that people tend not to want to part with their old SLR's even if there's better technology and it's difficult to get a better price on technology that's slightly worse than the present standard).

hbjah is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Nov 30, 2006, 11:39 AM   #2