Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

View Poll Results: What should I do?
Fix the 8700 0 0%
Get the Nikon Coolpix D80 2 66.67%
Get the Canon EOS Digital Rebel XTi/EOS400D 1 33.33%
Voters: 3. You may not vote on this poll

Old Dec 2, 2006, 7:04 AM   #1

My current camera is a Nikon Coolpix 8700. While I've been mostly happy with this camera, it's been breeding dead pixels lately, and I've not been happy with it's low-light performance.

I'm looking at the Nikon D80 and the Canon EOS Digital Rebel XTi (guess that's also the EOS400D)... I can't quite decide which one, because each have trade offs on my must-have list...

I'm mainly a landscape photographer, but I also like to play with macro, and photograph horses when the opportunity arrives... as well as birds and whatever other wildlife comes by, so I need a camera with a fast start up and good sports performance.

I'm leaning towards the Rebel, as it's a little lighter (I have very small hands and do not like heavy cameras), and in looking at Steve's pictures, seems to take better pictures (sharper, and better performance at higher ISOs), 'cept in some cases I thought the color was a tad muddy. Also, I've a certain amount of $ invested in CF cards, and I'm not quite ready to ditch them for SD... yet.

I've never had a Canon though, I've been pretty loyal to Nikon lately. Started with the 4300 (great little camera), got the 8700, then picked up a 5600 since even the 8700 is 'big enough' to be annoying in some circumstances.

I really wanted to get a camera that took regular AA batteries, but ah, well.

Also, I need some advice on what the best general-purpose lense would be for each camera. I'm not big on carrying/swapping lenses, so I'm guessing a decent zoom would be the ticket. Been nearly a decade since I've had to deal with removeable lenses. Gad, have digital cameras been around that long already?