Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Dec 20, 2006, 2:04 PM   #1
*M2

I am finally ready to make my purchase of a digital camera. I asked over the summer for some advice. I have little photography knowledge but am very interested in learning. Bought some books - will probably take a class soon.

Anyway, my needs are mostly family photography but occasionally have needed zoom and low light for concerts or ceremonies where my cheapo just produced blurry, dark photos.

The s6000 was strongly recommended. Is it THAT much better than the 5200? I know the s6000 has the face detection...what else makes it approximately $200 more (in terms an amateur can understand, please).

Thanks so much for your help!

Mary
*M2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Dec 20, 2006, 3:12 PM   #2

The really big advantage of the S6000 is the excellent high ISO capability. If you are going to use a long telephoto without stabilization you will want the capability of boosting the ISO without the noise becoming terrible. Cranking up the ISO lets you generate a higher shutter speed. It is useful at all lens ranges in limited light. You can take photos in conditions where another camera would fail to get a bright or unblurred image.

The S6000 also has a good wide angle, which is very useful for general photography. You get more in a scene and can get photos where you can't back off enough to get everyone or everything in the photo without a wide angle.

The difference is more like $150 online and I find it worth the difference.

slipe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 20, 2006, 6:54 PM   #3

Mary,

In addition to what slipe said, the S6000 also has a larger sensor, one more MP, a larger,higher resolution LCD, a faster lens, a wider range of shutter speeds, a stronger flash, manual focus ring, and a manual zoom ring. That's a lot of improvements, and I would say worth the money.

the Hun

rinniethehun is offline   Reply With Quote