Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Dec 20, 2006, 3:02 PM   #1

Ok, here's the deal. I'm a very novice camera user (when it comes to all of the advanced features of the camera). However, I've always had a passion for photography, so I'm looking to spend whatever holiday money I get this year on a new camera. My ultimate goal is to take amazing-looking up-close macro shots of wildlife, nature, and things of that sort. However, I also would like a camera that can take good pics of moving objects, for example at a football or baseball game.

Right now I have a good-ole P&S: a 5MP Canon Powershot A95. I feel that now is the time to upgrade. I've been researching cameras heavily for the past 3 days or so, and I am on the fence about whether to get a super-zoom or a D-SLR. I know that a super-zoom will ultimately be cheaper, but I know that a D-SLR will be better for me in the long run. I know that there will be a pretty steep learning curve for myself if I get a D-SLR (I've never used a camera of that type before).

So basically, I'm looking to spend about $700-800 for not only the camera, but accessories like lenses, a case, and a sufficient memory device. Thanks for the help!
Retnuhrace is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Dec 20, 2006, 5:14 PM   #2

It all comes down to your own personal standards. There isn't going to be a comparison on the wildlife and sports shots between the superzoom and a dslr with appropriate lens. Two completely different levels. But, the key part of that phrase is "with appropriate lens". Football, baseball and wildlife all require at least a 300mm lens to get really good shots - wildlife often requires as much reach as you can get. I have a 100-400mm lens with my DSLR - given the crop factor, that's like 640mm - longer than any superzoom without it's own teleconverter (and I honestly don't know how well the superzoom TCs work) and that is still short in many instances.