Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Jan 3, 2007, 8:04 AM   #1

Nikon D70s + 18-70/3,5-4,5
+ Nikon AF 50/1,8D

Canon EOS 400D + 18-55/3,5-5,6
+ Canon EF 50/1,8 II

In my currency the price is about the same, I have smallish hands so size of the 400D shouldn't be a problem, and I have no prior lenses or experience with either interface. I will be photographing my baby (and later, hyperactive toddler), mostly indoors and I need to be able to do quick shots.

I've read a gazillion reviews, forum posts and the likes, but I still need some views on this. My Canon-using friend tells me Nikon hates their customers and keeps linking me Canon-ads. But he also told me the 50/1,8 would suck and that the 18-55 would suit me just fine and that I should not listen to others on what I "need".

Please advise.
Corpset is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 3, 2007, 2:35 PM   #2

I started out with an EOS 620 (first of the autofocus cameras in the mid-1980's) when I first got married and started having kids - just like you. It was a very high end camera that has served me well and still performs beatifully. I am currently going through the same decision process. Since it is a significant investment, I am really doing the research.I don't have a huge investment so I can choose either Canon or Nikon. I also have a Canon Powershot.

Here is what my buying decision was - I hope it helps.

1) I narrowed my search down tothe Canon 400 and Nikon D80.I wanted a 2.5" LCD screen and a camera that uses SD memory (appears to be future trend), so I eliminated the D70s.The D80 is more expensive than the D70s, but I figure I am going to have the camera for the next 20 years, so it would be worth the extra cost.