Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Jan 27, 2007, 9:08 AM   #1

The Canon:
Wide angle 28mm lens
Zoom while filming?
SD cards (cheaper)
sharpness an issue?

The Sony:
More compact design
3- inch touch screen (is this an advantage)?
Lack of optical viewfinder.
zoom while filming?
sharper images (look here: http://www.imaging-resource.com/IMCOMP/COMPS01.HTM)
redeye issue?

I'm no expert. I just want a camera to take family pictures that look very good.

Thanks for your comments!

mrflabby is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Feb 7, 2007, 2:44 PM   #2

The lack of optical viewfinder is not as bad as you might think - you get used to it. The only thing might be that battery life can't be preserved by shutting off the screen. The T50 is far better than the other T-series of Sony due to the much better flash. it is also much lighter than the SD.

The Wide-angle is nice but ask yourself how often you'll use it.
SD's also have barrel distortion.
cgl88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 7, 2007, 9:24 PM   #3

Don't mean to hijack your post, but I'm trying to make a similar decision, and there seem to be too many posts on similar issues, so rather than add another, I'm jumping on yours :-).

I'm looking for a new digicam (duh). We've been using a Minolta F300 for several years and it's time for an upgrade. It will be used mostly for indoor pictures of the kids and outdoor scenery. I was seriously considering a DSLR, but due to the size, I think I wouldn't always want to lug it around, so it wouldn't get used as much as a nice compact model. Honestly the camera will probably spend most of its life in auto mode as a point-and-shoot, so manual controls are not a real priority.

Things that are important are:
  • photo quality [/*]
  • shutter lag [/*]
  • cycle time [/*]
  • battery life [/*]
  • size [/*]