Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Jan 27, 2007, 2:31 PM   #1

Ok guys, so heres how it is. I am going to Europe this summer and will be seeing alot of different landscapes, different monuments, LOTS of World War II sites, etc etc. I want a camera that will take REALLY good sharp quality images, while keeping a good high resolution. I dont mind if it's a large camera. I would like to get a DSLR, but someone said those cameras are hard to use and hard to take pictures with, could someone explain that for me? I really wanted to get the Rebel XT, and I can afford that camera right now. It comes with the standard lens 18 - 55. Will this camera do a good job for what I will be using it for? Or should I get something else.

If someone could help me, with regard that I am still pretty new to all of this, I would really appreciate it. Thanks much guys.
MikeTarr is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 27, 2007, 6:04 PM   #2

The Canon XT and the even newer Nikon D-40 are among the consumer level DSLR cameras that are particularly designed for users transitioning from point and shoot cameras to DSLR cameras. The have an auto position as well as scene mode and all those features that you are used to having.

The transition to a consumer level DSLR camera should not be difficult at all. Steve just completed his Nikon D-40 review and here is a link to it.

mtclimber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 27, 2007, 11:39 PM   #3

If you are going to be looking at dSLRs, also consider the Pentax K100D - I once gavemine to my husband, who has never owned a camera in his life, told him how to turn it on and where the shutter release was and he happily took pictures of a stopped LA freeway while I was driving. Most of his pictures were quite good! I wouldn't be scared off by any of the entry level dSLR cameras - they all have auto modes that will make the camera a lot like an advanced p&s.