Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Feb 13, 2007, 12:23 PM   #1

I'm faced with a dilemma of the Nikon D70 and D80, the Pentx K10 or the EOS 400.

I'm leaning towards the Nikon (on price more than anything and lens quality), but stop me if I'm making a big mistake. Also, if I do go for the D80, is this worth the extra £200/$400 more than the D70?

I'm pretty new to the photography world and have no old lenses to bring 'with me' onto my new camera. I'm looking for an 'all-rounder' camera really as I have no particular area of photography I want to speciailsie in.

Guess it comes down to which brand would suit someone like me?
ametcalf77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Feb 13, 2007, 1:08 PM   #2

All of these cameras take excellent pictures, all of them would suit someone like you. Each one has a little something that it does differently than the other, but from the sounds of it, the minor differences wouldn't make a difference. One of the biggest difference between the Pentax vs. the other two is how they handle image stabilization. Pentax has anti-shake built into the camera body while Canon and Nikon have it in specific lenses. If you are on a budget and care about ISthe Pentax might be better because all lenses are stabilized - with Nikon and Canon you would have to buy more expensive lenses to get stabilization. That may or may not be important to you - IS isn't the end-all or a guarantee someone with steady shooting skills will get better pictures. While IS is important to me (I'm not as steady as I once was), ergonomics are far more important.