Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Apr 4, 2007, 11:02 AM   #1

I did scroll through several pages of posts, but nothing seems to fit quite the scenario I'm living.

I'm a tech savvy mom of three, ages 5, 2 and newborn, and I enjoy taking photos of the kids. Granted, I also enjoy taking photos of things like my garden, weather, our pets, and the sights if we go on vacation, but my primary focus is the kids. And more often than not, we're inside the house when cute things are happening. My family room and basement are the centers of activity, lit with incandescent lamps, so the lighting isn't great.

I've been through a string of cameras in the last 15 years, simple film and digital P&S. My past digital cameras were a Kodak DX* from 2001 (can't remember the model, it was perfect until I lost it), a Nikon CP4300, and I now have a Canon A520. If I could have still gotten the Kodak when I initially lost it, I would have, the indoor pictures were fantastic compared to the Nikon or the Canon.

Gripes with the Nikon and Canon are the same - they take amazing outdoor shots (Canon gets the edge though) but they don't do well inside. Lots of grainy pictures, slow AF, slow start-up, slow flash recharge, poor red-eye reduction, and after a year or so, they start flaking out and generally slowing down and performance degrades. Initially the Canon was a lot better than the Nikon, but with time it's become more problematic.

While I don't mind using software to "fix" pictures, I don't have the time to go and mess with them, considering I normally take 50-80 pictures a month and work a more-than-full-time job. I prefer the camera to do the work, leaving me minimal tweaking.