Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

View Poll Results: which one?
nikon D100 0 0%
canon 30D 1 100.00%
Voters: 1. You may not vote on this poll

Old Apr 24, 2007, 12:39 PM   #1

my D100 is well past needing to be upgraded. my main beef with it has always been the noise and now it appears that my images are soft, even in RAW and shooting with my 20mm f2.8 lens. also, the camera is starting to get dead pixels and it has always gotten "tired" during studio shooting. the focus slows down, the buffer slows down as well as my patience. :sad:

money is always an issue, however i need to do something. i've been a nikon user for many years now, so if i go with canon, i would need to purchase canon mounts. i'm a professional working with what i have, the lenses i do have are only 3. i know, sounds crazy. but like i said i work with what i have go to my site: http://www.deirdreryan.com to see what i mean

if money were not an issue, i would get the canon 5D

any advice would be fantastic as i am at a fork in the road.

photoadele is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Apr 24, 2007, 1:06 PM   #2

Since you already have an investment in Nikon lenses I don't see a compelling reason to leave the system. The D200 is a great camera, but you mentioned one of your dislikes about the D100 was the noise. Noise is still relatively a problem in the d200. The D80 has better noise performance. Is there a reason you excluded that camera?

I'm also going to assume you meant Canon 400D (there is no 40d yet).

But, before jumping ship to Canon, I think its rational to explore if a Nikon camera can fit your needs first (since all cameras being considered are good). So, what do you think about the d80? Is there a feature the D200 offers that you feel you need over the D200? If not, the D80 should give you better noise performance.
JohnG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 24, 2007, 1:26 PM   #3