Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Apr 29, 2007, 11:32 AM   #1

Greetings, ladies and gentleman;

I have come to the stage where a dSLR camera would better facilitate my photography needs. I am not a hired professional photographer with a large company's budget to spare, nor am I inclined to blow the bank, I am just a beginner photographer with a self-restricted budget. I am not interested in fancy exposure modes, special lenses, or special lens elements; basically what I am interested in is reliability, trust, and support for the long term. I wouldn't like a camera that would go obsolete the moment it's out of the box, basically the camera should be able to accept a wide range of accessories from the manufacturer. I am not bothered by special purpose lenses or those tilt and shift ones (P.C. lenses), I am more bothered by the focal length that I am going to need. I have been hearing about the zoom lens versus the prime lens debate, and it would be nice if you could shade more light on the subject. Basically I am leaning more towards zoom lenses for their nice versatility and prime lenses for their optical superiority over zoom lenses; if you could advice me on that matter as well, it would be good.

I would like to spend within U.S.$1600 including a good memory chip.

Basically I want to learn more about photography, especially composition, which I seems to be quite poor at. I would also like to have the rule of third grid in the viewfinder if it is possible, since I often have difficulties trying to guess where the "points of powers" are.

I would like to have aperture priority mode so that I can experiment with depth of field; something I look forward to.