Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old May 10, 2007, 11:49 AM   #1

Hello all,

I can pick up this package for $849.00CAD+taxes, I'm very new to the DSLR market.My main question is has this packagecome together as a result of toomany products being tooclosely priced? is the 50-200 lense worth jumping onto this package.I have been doing my research and seem to be at a cross roads. My girlfriend is an active birder and has the canon powershot s3 is. So I'm thinkingI should save a bit more and move into the 10meg range as she would be using my camera also. Cosidering these other ones also.

Pentax K10d

Nikon D80

Nikon D40x

Tanks in advance for your input.

Shadow_6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 10, 2007, 3:59 PM   #2

I just got the Pentax K100D with the 18-55 lens for 535.00 If you want this camera I'd get the body for around 475 and wait for the Tamron 18-250 lens that will be out in a few weeks.{maybe 3} I just love the pictures my K100 takes with the 18-55. and the anti-shake it wonderful withmy 70-300 lenszoomed in. I think its the best camera of the ones you listed or the K10,, they can use all pentax lensesand thatsa treat.
Fl_Gulfer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 10, 2007, 4:11 PM   #3

Take a look at the Pentax DSLR tread, below. You will find many happy and helpfulPentax DSLR owners. K100d is a great camera and best value for the money. K10D is a significant step up, not so much in picture quality, but in manual controls, weather seal, and size/weight. With the built in image stabilization (SR in Pentax language) there is nothingthat comes close to either of these cameras from any other manufacturer. The ultra zooms, like S3, are not in the same league. The DA 50 200 is an excellent lens, sharp and relatively fast, and is a bargain. I've recommended this set up, together withthe kit lens, to two friends. Both loved them.

Good luck.
lenkerry is offline   Reply With Quote