Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old May 10, 2007, 6:11 PM   #1

I am new to dslr's, although i have been in photography w/ advanced point and shoots "i never experienced a manual mode yet". Im expecting to learn alot, and i know i iwll have to. I enjoy photography as a hobby, although i also developed it into a business. I take pictures of famous speakers on a podium, using 8X magnification on my point and shoot camera. I looked at zoom lenses that reach that amount but they are VERY expensive. So ijust started thikning of just buying a 8X prime lens. The reason im using 8X and not mm is b/c i dont understand how to use the mm measurments, and dont even bother trying to explain it, b/c i cant get it, yet. SO, which camera would be the highest quality, that i could buy w/ 2 average lenses for my hobby, and a 8X prime lens for uder 800$, if its possible
Arfi is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 10, 2007, 7:33 PM   #2

A bit of basic education:

A Zoom lens can change it's focal length to give a different view of the scene without moving.

A Prime lens is a fixed focal length.

8X refers to the ratio between the shortest and longest focal lengths on a zoom lens so an 8X prime lens is impossible. Zoom ratios don't really mean much to DSLR lenses as they can be different focal lengths for different purposes. A 10 to 20mm zoom is only 2X but is considered an ultrawide lens and serves a completely different purpose from a 4.3X - 70 to 300mm which is very telephoto.

http://www.tamron.com/lenses/learnin...comparison.php is a quick primer on what the various focal lengths can do.

Being a Nikon bigot I would recommend a Nikon D40 DSLR BODY with the Nikon AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-55mm f3.5-5.6G ED II and NikonAF-S NIK DX 55-200MM F4-5.6 G ED or NikonAF-S ZM NIK DX VR 55-200MM F4.5-5.6 for starters. Overall you would get 11.1X zoom with the two lenses ( 200 / 18 ) so you can see how meaningless this X business is!