Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Jul 3, 2007, 1:10 PM   #1

First off, I purchased a canon A610 about a year ago thanks to the information I read on this website. Thanks for that, it's been a great camera.

I've been using the A610 to take pictures of samples at my work. I'm a graduate student and produce samples from the size of a pencil eraser to the size of a quarter with varying thicknesses. Although the A610 has produced good pictures acceptable for publication, my boss would like to purchase a camera for the express purpose of taking good pictures for publication.

One limitation of my current camera is that even at a setting of f/8 some of my image is still out of focus. I'd rather the whole imagebe in focus. Now I don't know too much about lense theory (although I've tried to read all I can about it) so all this talk of focal lengths and aperature size isn't really important to me. I simply need a camera that will take macro pictures where most of the image subject is in focus. I have about $800 to spend.

I've looked at another canon that has 10mp but it looks like the highest aperatures is still f/8. If I could find a point and shoot that had an aperature of f/16+ and macro setting at 0 meters that would be great.

As far as DSLR's, I'mthoroughly confusedby all the many lens choices. If I could buy a DSLR case along with a lens that met my above criteria I could do that as well.

Please help.

Thank you.
scjohnson78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jul 3, 2007, 2:27 PM   #2

How about the Fuji FinePix S6000fd? It goes to F11 and has a supermacro mode.

For another site's review and some sample pics, go to:

Go to the Mickey Mouse picture, which is usually in the middle of the review.
robbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 3, 2007, 2:52 PM   #3