Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Jul 13, 2007, 11:24 PM   #1

I'm a newbie when it comes to DSLR cameras. I come from the old-school SLR cameras (still have my Nikons). I'm trying to help my son buy his first DSLR and he (we) seem to have narrowed the choices down to the Nikon D40x, the Canon XTi and the Olympus E-500 (maybe E-510). After mulling for weeks over reviews and the forums, we finally made it into a camera store to do some hands-on testing. All three are nice, but one thing I didn't like about the Olympus is the way the lens focused in Manual mode. I needed to turn the focus ring an entire revolution to get just a tiny bit of focusing achieved. The Nikon and Canon act like my old SLR lenses where a tiny turn of the focus ring made a huge difference. Is this how Olympus lenses work? Am I not using it the right way? Someone told me that for the most part, we would use Auto-Focus instead of Manual. Maybe so, but in the old camera days, I sometimes liked to use a very narrow plane of focus and leave everything else soft, and I can't imagine how to do this using Auto-Focus. Being able to adjust the focus by tiny increments is required for this type of photography. My son is leaning towards the Olympus because of the attractive price, but I can't get over the slow manual focusing lenses. Someone please educate me. Thanks!
EvanF19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jul 14, 2007, 5:36 AM   #2

I don't have an Oly camera, but think that Olympus lenses use a fly-by-wire manual focus, which is an electronic control, rather than a manual control of Canon and Nikon. This invlolves more turning of the MF ring and imho is less precise. I had it on my old Fuji S9500 and didn't really like it, but it should be better on an Oly camera. Anyway, cropped format DSLRs give you more DOF with the same lenses than full frame DSLR or old SLRs, so to achieve a shallow DOF you have to invest into faster lenses.