Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Jul 25, 2007, 3:41 AM   #1

I'm new to digital photography and for quite some time do look for a camera that fits
my needs and expectations - not too dear, relatively light and, most importantly, with
a wide angle lens - .

I don't want to buy different lenses, so it would be ok for me if the camera I finally purchase would have a fixed lens. But it must be a wide angle lens!!

After reading camera reviews again and again, I first considered to take the risk and pick up a DSLR since they seem to have an outstanding image quality and, in compari-
son with other cameras, work best at high ISO settings. But DSLR's are fairly expen-
sive and obviously have a big issue and that is dust.

In the meantime, I also took a look at so called Super Zoom cameras and just yester-
day when Panasonic announced the "Lumix FZ 18" with its amazing 28 - 504 mm lens I really "fell in love" with that brand-new digicam.

I'm not going to make any decision right now. Instead, I'll wait for the reviews of the "Lumix FZ 18" to come out, because I'm sure that camera will also have some draw- backs.

Before I conclude this post, please allow me to ask two final questions:

1. Do Super Zoom cameras have fixed lenses? And
2. Do they also have problems with dust?

I really would appreciate any recommendation.

Thanks in advance.

xer2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jul 25, 2007, 9:20 AM   #2

If by superzoom cameras you are talking about Sony H's or Canon S's, then yes, the lenses are fixed, in that they don't come off. You have the ability to add lenses onto the ends of the existing lenses by buying a lens adapter and then screwing the added lenses onto the adapter.

If you use an adapter at all times with a UV lens at the end, they don't get dust into the lens extending mechanism and the lens face is safe from scratching.