Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Sep 1, 2007, 8:56 PM   #1

I've currently got an Olympus E-500 and love it. I'm a corporate pilot and travel all over north america and my camera normally comes with me to interesting layovers. However it's size is a hinderance, then when I don't bring it on trips that are routine an amazing photo opportunity seems to always get missed.

I'm looking for something I can keep with me all the time mostly for basic snapshots, nothing too crazy, but still decent enought to capture a good picture... I'd also love to take some little movie clips too. A nice compact size is key so I can just have with me all the time.

Thanks in advance for any and all insight! And I am partial to the Olympus brand but am willing to go any direction for the best bang for the buck.. looking to spend around $200-$300.

Drifting is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Sep 1, 2007, 9:12 PM   #2

The Olympus SP-550 can be bought refurbished directly from Olympus on E-Bay for around $(US) 310.00 to $(US) 335.00

Sarah Joyce
mtclimber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 1, 2007, 9:46 PM   #3

I'll just bounce an idea off you and see what you think.

Have you considered buying the two new kit lenses which are much lighter and compact than the old ones. I'd guess the E500 plus those two lenses would fit in a VERY compact case.

Just a thought.

fldspringer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 2, 2007, 12:53 AM   #4

What I'm really looking for is a half decent slim build camera.. just something to throw in the shirt pocket or even the outside pocket on my E-500 carry bag. When I want to take the good picture I bring out the E500, but I'm looking for something more along the lines of the Olmypus FE-230 etc.. just to catch those "snapshots" nothing crazy fancy.. with the ability to take the odd little movie clip too.