Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Oct 21, 2007, 4:27 AM   #1

Hello Boys and Girls.

I used to be a keen photographer in the film days.

These digicams are great, but they are full of stuff I don't need or want. All I want is a camera with a good quality fixed focal length lens. I don't want 6x zoom as zoom means compromise,(f2.8 at best),size and weight.

Pentax boasts that their DSLR cameras can uee"any Pentax lens ever made". So here is my question.

If I get a Pentax DSLR body only and put an old F1.8 lens on it. will it work?But wait! The chip is probably the size of my little finger nail so do I need a 28mm lens? 35mm?? If it works Will I be able to manually focus?

If I am on the right track. Which body would give me manual focus and shutter speed control?

Thanks for any feedback.

bondy100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Oct 21, 2007, 7:33 AM   #2

They're a little larger than that (size of your little fingernail) in a dSLR. Non-dSLR models do use much smaller sensors. But, most of the entry level dSLR models use APS-C size sensors.

With the entry level dSLR models, you will have a narrower angle of view (more apparent magnification) for any given focal length lens, compared to a 35mm camera.

To see how they compare on an entry level Pentax, Nikon or Sony dSLR (which all use Sony APS-C size sensors), multiply the focal length of a lens by 1.5x to see what focal length lens you'd use on a 35mm camera for the same angle of view.

For example, a 50mm lens on one of these dSLR models would give you roughly the same angle of view as a 75mm lens on a 35mm camera (50mm x 1.5 = 75mm).

In the entry level Canon dSLR models, you need to use 1.6x instead.

So, if you want a lens that's approximately comparable to a 50mm lens on a 35mm camera, go with something around 30 or 35mm.