Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Nov 1, 2007, 7:31 AM   #1

I am a novice photographer but would like to start taking digital pictures.

My son plays college lacrosse and I wanted to start taking some nice action shots of him playing. I have been to all the stores and was actually looking the the following cameras:
Canon PowerShot S5 IS
Panasonic Lumix DMC-FZ18
Sony DSC-H9

I like the Panasonic because of it 18x zoom but am looking for some help from the pros. Help me decide on one of these or let me know if there is something I should be looking at instead. I would like to stay in the price range of these cameras.
pinkstonm is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Nov 1, 2007, 8:54 AM   #2

To a large extent your success with any of these cameras will depend on how close you can get to the field. 18x zoom may SEEM like a lot but in reality for sports work it isn't. Especially when you're shooting from the stands.

I know both the S5 and the H9 have a LOT of happy owners. I haven't heard much about FZ18 nor have I seen many reviews. From a spec standpoint the fz has the edge in reach which will be very beneficial but other than that it comes down to the points I'll make below.

But here's the critical piece that will be missing from almost ANY review and from most users: how does each of these cameras perform shooting ACTION. I am primarily a sports shooter and I can guarantee you that shooting action is completely different than shooting stills. Cameras that are fantastic at still shots - sharp, responsive etc - fail at shooting action. Why?

Several reasons.

1. Lag time - you press the shutter and a second later the camera fires.