Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Dec 30, 2007, 11:13 AM   #1

Hello – I was hoping to get some advice from people regarding a good (budget) camera to use for macro photography for the studio and outdoors. My budget is small - around 300-600 dollars.

Some quick background information – I have a terrible condition… I can't wink! (stop laughing!) It's horrible! And as a want-to-be photographer I have found that using a viewfinder is progressively getting more difficult for me. In college I mostly used a medium format camera because it was easier for me to then using 35mm slr.

I recently bought a Canon Rebel XTI and I had to return it because I just can't use a view finder anymore (I didn't know that you couldn't use the LCD screen to take photos!) I can't afford a Canon 40D to use the LCD screen so now I think I am looking for a point and shoot camera to hold me over until I can afford a dslr.

I was looking into the Canon Powershot G9 and the Canon Powershot S5 and I wasn't sure which could produce the best photos for macro work…or if there was any other camera I should look into.

Thanks so much in advance!

Taitum is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Dec 30, 2007, 11:26 AM   #2

I can't comment on the G9... but I do have the S5... I find it a very capable and HANDY camera to have around!

It has a macro and "super" macro... with super macro you can basically end up focusing so close the front element will touch the subject!

The flip/tilt LCD is nice.. and I use an 420EX speedlite on the S5's hotshoe..

Here are a couple of samples... this is just me goofing around....

goofing around at work... set a nickel on the table... floresent lighting...

more goofing... 420EX bounced off the ceiling...

Mr_Saginaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 30, 2007, 5:28 PM   #3