Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Jan 13, 2008, 8:18 PM   #1

Looking to start up my own photo business. I am used to the 35mm and have decided to go over to the digital age. I am nerdy on the photoshop, so not a problem, however, I am wanting to shoot weddings, baby, newborn, pregnancy, nudes, outdoor family, studio (eventually) and product shots.. I have a shakey hand due to medicines, however I need the camera to be fast and able to have RAW footage capabilities on the go.

I have read the reviews of the two and still am stumped? I like the pentax anti-shake and the fact you can use old lenses.. however, if i were to ever resell this camera, i wouldn't make much from it.. the prices don't stay there.. as for the nikon, they are the well known brand because of ads, but how do they really rate up against pentax.

so what is your advice.. I am not a beginner photographer, been on the film side for a long time. need something that is a good investment and will have a good return later on when i am ready to move on.

filmnerd001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 13, 2008, 8:59 PM   #2

No camera body is a "good investment with a good return later on." Most years a new body comes out with more bells and whistles and so demand for the older cameras drop (what happened to the resale price of the Nikon D50 when they came out with the D40). Now days the value isn't in the camera body, but in the lenses. They will move with you from camera to camera, and really can provide a good return if you decide to sell something later on. I happen to be a happy PentaxK10 owner and am still using lenses I bought new over 25 years ago (and they still take great pictures). So decide what lenses you are going to need, then make sure whichever camera you decide on has those lenses available.