Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Feb 10, 2008, 3:44 PM   #1

I've been using the 828 for over than three years now. I shoot mostly outdoor, during backpacking and other extreme activities (results can be viewed at http://www.EfratNakash.com/). This is why I need a light camera, and cannot carry many accessories.

I would like to have:
  • Zoom lens angle wider than the equivalent of 28mm. [/*]
  • Larger high-resolution LCD (>=3.0). [/*]
  • Improved image quality (artifact and noise)
Still, I am not ready to give up any of the following 828 features:
  • Total weight below 1Kg. [/*]
  • Live LCD shooting view. [/*]
  • A tilting LCD or the whole body (easier for extreme photographing angles, especially for flowers and small kids, and when the sun is bright). [/*]
  • Spot AF (flexible). [/*]
  • Spot light metering. [/*]
  • Macro focus mode (using the same lens).[/*]
Can anyone advice? Does anyone know about expected models?

Many thanks,

Attached Images
EfratNakash is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Feb 10, 2008, 4:40 PM   #2

Youmight look at the Fuji FinePix S100FS

Here are the specs (copied from dcresource).
  • 8th-generation, 2/3" SuperCCD HR sensor with 11.1 effective Megapixels [/*]
  • F2.8-5.3, 14.3X optical zoom lens, equivalent to 28 - 400 mm [/*]
  • Optical image stabilization [/*]
  • Manual zoom and focus rings [/*]
  • 2.5" tilt-able LCD display (230k pixels) + electronic viewfinder [/*]
  • Full manual controls; ISO goes to 3200 at full resolution, 6400 at 6MP, and 10,000 at 3MP [/*]
  • Dynamic range can be expanded by up to 400% [/*]
  • RAW image format supported [/*]
  • Can take up to 3 RAW or 7 JPEGs in a row at 3 frames/second; dropping the resolution to 3MP lets you take 50 shots in a row at 7 fps [/*]
  • Three film simulation modes: soft, Velvia (vibrant), and Provia (general use) [/*]
  • Face Detection can find faces in profile; redeye can be removed automatically [/*]