Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Feb 14, 2008, 4:17 PM   #1

Hi all! I am itching to move on to a DSLR from my panasonic FZ20 (which I LOVE). I would like one that I can grow with (auto and manuel settings), something that I can take long-distance shots with (I do a lot of wildlife photography), and preferably something with image stabilization. And, of course, sharp/clear pics. Is there anything out there that you could recommend to me? If you have one in mind, any good lens recommendations that I should get with that specific camera?

I'm no pro or anything even close. I just do this for fun, and couldn't afford any high-end professional DSLR. I don't know much about lenses - I want something easy to use. If you want to see the types of photos I take to get an idea of what I would be using it for, here is a link to my page: www.mkklein.smugmug.com

ride16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Feb 14, 2008, 9:59 PM   #2

Any of the entry level dSLR cameras are capable of taking outstanding pictures - looking at your pictures I think you could do well with any of them. A couple of things came to my mind while I looked through them - you'll probably need more than one lens, and it didn't look like you were that interested in macro photography.

Have you been to a camera store yet and handled the various cameras? That might rule out one or more. Ergonomics become important since dSLR cameras vary so much in size and weight.