Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Apr 7, 2008, 8:13 PM   #1

This is my first post on the forums after reading up alot around this subject...
Basically I'm a 19 year old student looking for my first DSLR camera.
I was originally looking at the Nikon D80 but the price is a little out of my budget @ £500ish.

I then started to look at the Nikon D40x but have been reading it's downsides and looking at the picture quality am debating which to choose.
Throwing into the mix the lack of a auto focus motor in the D40x, does this mean if I got one I would be limited to lens types?

I have then heard Nikon have released the D60, Steve hasn't reviewed it yet and I was wondering what advantages it has over the D40x?

My main subjects for the photography will be people, especially at parties (not the rowdy drunken type), and indoors, aswell as going for some nice outdoor landscapes + floral macro shots.

I'm so sorry for all the questions but I would really like some advice from people with some real knowledge on the subject as I really am an ametuer.

If anyone knows any good UK based camera shops as well, it would be grately appreciated if you could fire some URLs my way!

Please could anyone provide me with some advice!?!?
If I'm doing the wrong thing choosing Nikons... please tell me

Thank you so much in advance!

farmertml is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Apr 7, 2008, 9:13 PM   #2

Hi Paul,

The issue with the Nikon D40/D60 is, as you have pointed out, the fact that the focus motor is only in the lenses, not in the body. Basically, that means you are restricted to certain lenses if you wish to use auto-focus. If you don't mind usinf manual focus, then I believe you can use all modern Nikon-compatible lenses. FWIW, I can't manually focus worth a darn unless the lens is short.