Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Apr 22, 2008, 12:09 AM   #1

I am looking into the waterproof camera Sanyo Xacto VPC-E1. However, just last Friday, Sanyo announced their new upgrade to their waterproof line (DMX-CA8 ).

Can you help me decipher the details to help me decide if I should wait (and pay much more) for the newer version? Thanks in advance.

VPC-E1 ("older" model) --> 6 megapixel, CCD, 30 fps video

DMX-CA8 (newer model) --> 8 megapixel, CMOS, 60 fps video

These are the main differences. I know that with regular digital cameras, the 6 vs 8 MP wouldnt make that much of a difference for regular use, but how about with camcorders, especially with CCD & 30fps vs CMOS & 60 fps (both in underwater conditions and dry)

I am a newbie, dont need super great quality, stills and video will probably not be printed or converted to DVD, just shared online (not youtube compression, but left as original)

gobears29 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Apr 23, 2008, 11:04 AM   #2

Regular US TV is30 fps so I guess this wouldn't be a particular advantage. Movies are 24 fps.As for the resolution I think a standard TV is less than 1 Mp so 6 or 8 is still a lot more than you need. Even high definition TV is only 1920×1080 pixels ie 2Mp.

There's no clear cut winner between CMOS and CCD although more manufacturers seem to be switching to CMOS.

Nagasaki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 23, 2008, 2:15 PM   #3

Thanks for replying. After more research, I came to the same conclusion that for my needs, it doesnt make that much of a difference.
gobears29 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 23, 2008, 8:47 PM   #4