Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old May 27, 2008, 12:13 AM   #1

As I mentioned I have pretty well narrowed it down to the A650, A720, and S5. Is there anything as far as imagine quality that sets these three apart? I haven't been able to find comparison photos for the three, which is somewhat frustrating. The price difference will be huge for me. The A720 will be about $200, and the A650 and S5 would both be around $360.

I have already purchased and messed around with the S5, now I am fairly new to these fancy pants cameras so I have a feeling the images i produced were lacking in quality do to that fact. I didnt have much of a window for return, so I may have to go and purchase it again for another test run. I currently have in my possession an A720, I haven't been able to get out and to some great testing yet but I hope to this weekend. As far as look and feel the A720 is pretty well the same size and weight of my old Powershot A70 (what I am looking to upgrade from). Both the S5 and A720 have been comfortable in my hand.

I am looking for a camera to grow into,so the manual functions are appealing to me. But is there going to be a big difference in photo quality between these three? or is it pretty well down to bells and whistles (ex.larger zoom vs. compactability. swivel screen vs. no swivel etc)

The more i read up on these cameras, the more confused and undecided I get. I have read reviews praising the S5, and I have read some that turn me off completely. I have also read reviews that say the A720 will produce photos of equal or BETTER quality when compared to the S5. If anyone has any advice/pointers/anything to offer, I will certainly be greatful.

Dents is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 27, 2008, 7:14 AM   #2