Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Jul 8, 2008, 6:17 PM   #1

I am an architect and I would like to buy a DSLR to take pics mainly of buildings, landscape and to pics around the city.

I would like to know if you could advise me what you would reccommed me?

I have been looking at Sony a200, canon EOS 450, Nikon D80.

Any help would be great.

Thank you in advance

clippers40 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jul 8, 2008, 8:55 PM   #2

If you are serious about architecture photography, you might want to take a look at Canon's Tilt-Shift and Nikon's Perspective Control lenses. They correct for the perspective that results from taking a photo of a tall building while standing on the ground. The effect can be corrected in post processing, but the results are not as good as one of these lenses will give you. Sony has no lenses that can produce that effect.

The Sony benefits from sensor shift image stabilization in the camera body so any lens will be stabilized, while the Canon and Nikon use optical image stabilization in some of its lenses.

The Canon 450D has a 12MP image sensor and 'Live View'. Compared to the 450D, perhaps a Sony (10MP) A300 or (14MP) A350 would be better choices, as they also have 'Live View'.

In this group, the Nikon D80 doesn't have much that distinguishes it from the others, but it is a fine camera.

Something else that you might make part of your selection process is how the camera feels to you. I think uyou should go to a good camera retailer and try them out, though the Tilt-Shift or Perspective Control lenses are likely to be special order items.
TCav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 8, 2008, 10:03 PM   #3