Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Jul 15, 2008, 3:20 PM   #1

About a week from now, Im going to Hawaii for ~3 weeks. :-)

Ive been shooting happilywith a sony V3 for the last 3+ years but Ive been idly considering moving up to an entry-level DSLR recently (mainly since live-LCD-view is becoming more common).

So, I think what Im looking for is a big-sensor camera that's not too inconvenient to carry-around, is generally useable like a P&S [composing via LCD], and will deliver a huge improvement in IQ over my current camera.

That said, I'm considering the sony A300 (or maybe A350)because it is well-priced and it seems to have the most useable live-view mode in the field. Based on comments in dpreview's review of the 350, it seems like the A300/350 are made to be used w/ the LCD primarily, and the viewfinder secondarily, which appeals to me since I have no desire to go back to squinting through eyepieces.

Ive looked at the Olympus 420 and I like the fact that it's small (for a DSLR) but I don't like the (lack of) a real right-hand grip and lack of IS.

The Canon 450D/XSi sounds sweet but may be more than I want to spend on a "trial thing" (meaning, I'm not sure if the size of a DSLR will fit into my photography lifestyle, thus it's something of a trial). [unless the quality improvement over my current cam will be a revelation and I'll be instantly sold?]

I kind of wish Sony had made followups to the R1 now!

So I think my questions are:

- Are there other cameras I should be looking at?

- How seriously should I consider the A350 over the A300? [more pixels vs higher pixel density & noise and $200 price diff.]

Also a general question - what's the difference between the CCD sensor in the A300/350 and the CMOS in the A700? Within the context of SLR-sized sensors, is a CMOS necessarily better than a CCD?