Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Jul 27, 2008, 1:14 AM   #1

I'm in the market for a new camera, and am leaning toward the canon a720is.

However, as I was looking around, I saw a feature on a different camera that caught my eye and was hoping to know more about it.

If you scroll down to the 3rd and 4th pics, you can see what I'm talking about. The camera has a feature that allows you to lighten the picture so that what originally looks like shadow can belightenedso that youcanmakedetails out that were once too dark to see.

I have very little experience with cameras, and don't even know what this effect is called. I think Nikon calls it 'D-lighting'. What I'm wanting to know is if this is a common feature in other cameras, or really any information that would be helpful in looking for a camera that can do this, as it looks like a neat feature.

Thanks for any help.

beanless is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jul 27, 2008, 11:24 AM   #2

One thing to consider is that when D lighting is used, it increases the noise level in the photo.
AndyfromVA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 27, 2008, 11:40 AM   #3

Andy is correct. Both Nikon and Sony offer the D-Lighting feature is certain models of their cameras.

Sarah Joyce
mtclimber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 27, 2008, 6:18 PM   #4

Olympus offers this on certain cameras, it's called shadow adjustment and certain softwares like adobe CS2 have this feature in case your camera doesn't. To much of it and the photo will look washed out.
eharrim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 28, 2008, 8:54 AM   #5

Thanks for the help, now I can look around for different options. You allhave any suggestions?