Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Aug 16, 2008, 12:44 AM   #1

I'm new to all of this, I've got plenty of money, two kids, and I'm tired of scheduling and going to my photographerwhen I want to snapa fewshots. Plus I'm considering offering photo shoots in my future studio for family and friends as a hobby. I'm gonna be buying all the equipment, backdrops, lights, camera, ?...

I checked out Steve's reviews and it appears he ranked the Fujifilm finepix s5 pro about the best for studio shoots. My photographer uses the s3 pro and I'm very impressed with the quality of his pics.He uses a Radio slave 4i sender and remote with Power light 1500 and 1500r and a Gossen luna star f sensor?? (i took a few notes on my last visit to his studio while he stepped out, I don't really know what I'm talking about, but I'm gonna start reading up on all this).

Anyone know of a camera that can beat the quality of the s5? There isn't an s6 coming out soon is there? If you wanna recommend lights, backdrop products, etc, please do. Basically what ALL do I need to make some studio quality pics. I guess my budget for the whole studio would be about $ 6,000. But my primary goal for now is the new camera. Please don't reply with "(blank) would begood starter equipment". I want what a professional would use. You guys are the pros, what would you buy?

munKy is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Aug 16, 2008, 5:27 AM   #2

The fuji S series by all accounts is a great camera. Pro quality build and features, and the sensor does a great job rendering skin tones and has great dynamic range. It is a bit on the slow slide, and is a little heavy handed on noise reduction (reducing detail) at high iso's. Studio and wedding work is what this camera is known for.