Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Aug 23, 2008, 4:50 PM   #1

Hi, I am new to the DSLR Camers and about to upgrade from the Sony R1 to a new SLR.

I wanna buy a great camera once and for all. I'm not looking for an entry level SLR. I want to spend the money on a great proffessional SLR and i'm seriously considering the NIkon D300.

Is this a wise choice. I'll get some books to learn the basics of Digital SLR and therefore I wanna buy a really good camers and never look back. I don't want to climb the stairs from basic entry level SLR (D40,D60,D80). I only want to spend the money once.

Is it a stupid move to start with the Nikon D300 as a first timer.
Greatestboss is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Aug 23, 2008, 5:27 PM   #2

Only once, huh? There is some merit to that thinking.

But, there will always be a newer and faster camera model coming out with more features. So, I'd consider the lenses you want to use to be a more important aspect of any upgrade path you choose. Cameras are more like computers anymore (they are evolving rapidly as time passes).

JimC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 23, 2008, 5:33 PM   #3

First, the Nikon D300 is a great camera.

Second, the Nikon D300 is a professional camera.

Third, the Nikon D300 doesn't come with training wheels.

It doesn't have the different pre-programmed exposure modes that you may be familiar with. It has Programmed, Shutter Priority, Aperture Priority, and Manual, plus 48 custom settings and configurable menues.

It will be awfully difficult to hit the ground running with a D300.

The most important thing about a camera is the lens anyway. Perhaps you should get some really good lenses for the type(s) of photography you want to do, and get a camera you can grow into, and replace it later with a D300 (or whatever.)

Your collection of lenses is likely to end up costing more than the camera body anyway, so get your feet wet with some good lenses.