Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Aug 26, 2008, 11:38 AM   #1

Hi everyone,
Sorry to add to numerous posts similar to this, but I really need help on 2 issues:

1) Do I deserve a DSLR?
I've already read through many articles and forum posts on the topic of P&S vs DSLR so I know the pros and cons of both. Instead I'd like your advice/opinions on whether the type of photography I do justifies my desire for a DSLR. I love photography, but I'm concerned I'll be spending too much money on a camera that's too advanced for its user.

I've never owned or used a DSLR before. I've used a Canon Powershot A80 for the past 5 years. It served me well and the only reason I'm getting a new camera is because I lost it a couple of months ago

I am a student on a tight budget, so if I get a DSLR I won't be buying additional lenses anytime soon. I've used various modes like landscape, night and sports and have a basic understanding of shutter speed, but haven't ventured into fully manual, although I'm willing to try.

The types of photos I take are:
- night scenes (city skylines, buildings lit up at night)
- nature macro esp. flowers
- travel photography (buildings, architecture, cities from high rise viewpoints)
- nature landscapes (mountains, rivers, clouds)
- occasionally animals
- people at parties/functions

I normally don't do any post processing of photos. My photos are for personal use, like posting online or for use as PC wallpaper. When I print photos it's usually photo album size (3R/4R).

Photography is only a hobby for me, but I'm still particular about taking clear, beautiful pictures. I'm always trying to get the perfect shot and usually end up with a dozen photos of the same thing.

So, does all this justify getting a DSLR?

2) Canon 400D or 450D