|
|||||||
![]() |
|
|
Thread Tools |
|
|
#1 |
|
Junior Member
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 3
|
I come across this camera at http://www.gizmograbber.com/ProductD...mp;ClassID=126
And I have been after some info about www.gizmograbber.com This B2C site looks promising. Did anyone check it out? The car video and mobile phone there seem good. from their website They offer : 24 hour customer service via Live Chat Price guarantee (Beating any competitor's price by 10% to get your order). Just contact Customer Service via Live Chat if you found a better deal anywhere else. 12 month international warranty on everything we sell. No minimum order quantity requirements. Easy payments. To learn more, click here. Easy return and exchange policy. To learn more, click here. Custom logo labels, logo screen printing, and custom full-color packaging. Contact Live Chat customer service with your customization and packaging request. Power supplies and adapters to fit every locale. Custom device programming/configuration at the factory stage. Anonymous custom drop shipping service to any worldwide destinations. Is it a scam?Thanks. |
|
|
|
| Sponsored Links |
|
|
|
|
#2 |
|
Senior Member
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Washington, DC, Metro Area, Maryland
Posts: 6,356
|
The domain 'gizmograbber.com' is new as of May of 2007.
Their listing in Yahoo! and DMOZ are for wholesale electronics from China. 'gizmograbber.com' is not listed in http://www.resellerratings.com/ Historically, products (not just cameras) obtained through companies like 'gizmograbber.com' are very difficult to get support from, and drivers and firmware are rarely if ever updated. The specs say this is a 5 MP digicam with a fixed focal length 8.5mm f/2.8 lens for $135. Even if this was from a name brand, I'd say it was a waste of money. In addition, it seems to have a lot of chrome around the objective lens element, which could be a source of substantial flare. My impression is that the manufacturer had a bunch of spare parts, some of which were lenses, so he decided to put them together and make some cameras. If he didn't have any lenses, this could have turned out to be an MP3 Player. If you get it, please come back and tell us what you think. |
|
|
|
|
|
#3 |
|
Senior Member
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Sacramento, Ca
Posts: 569
|
This is the oldest scam in the books. They have been doing it for years.
Basically what you have there is the most basic type of camera. No different than the give away cameras you could get for free with a magazine subscription. Only now its digital. They put it a case designed to make it look an expensive camera. Add a few useless accessories also designed to look like more expensive equipment. Often they will through in the word "Pro" somewhere in the packaging. And often they will give them names that are close to top name companies such as Nikan or Petrax or Olympian its not worth the box it will come in |
|
|
|
|
|
#4 | |
|
Senior Member
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 324
|
tjsnaps wrote:
Quote:
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
#5 | |
|
Senior Member
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Washington, DC, Metro Area, Maryland
Posts: 6,356
|
StevieDgpt wrote:
Quote:
|
|
|
|
|
![]() |
| Thread Tools | |
|
|