Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Oct 10, 2008, 4:57 PM   #1

Hey all, n00b here, not a pro photographer or even a junkie. I'm just trying to decide between four consumer-level point-and-shoot cameras:

* Canon PowerShot G9
* Canon PowerShot G10
* Panasonic Lumix DMC-TZ5
* Panasonic Lumix DMC-LX3

Since I'm not a pro, I don't give a hoot about having a place to mount an external flash or lens, or "RAW" mode, or excess manual controls, or any of that. All I care is that:

(1) It has the classic "Rangefinder" look
(2) It's compact, or very close to it -- no wooly mammoth dSLR cameras
(3) It takes very high-quality images, at all light levels and all zoom ranges
(4) It takes very high-quality movies with VERY high-quality audio

Please, no suggestions of other makes or models -- I'm only interested in the four mentioned above.

I've read some SCATHING reviews of the PowerShot G10's ability to shoot in low-light levels, apparently the quality is awful? I borrowed a friend's G9 once, and it seemed excellent to me, I didn't notice any issues -- has Canon somehow regressed with the new G10 introduction? Or is this just the pickiness of the junkies, nitpicking over stuff that normal people don't/won't ever notice?

Don't need sample images, just recommendations from people who have actually owned/tried these cameras and understand that what I'm looking for is very specific and not very complicated.

organist89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Oct 10, 2008, 10:00 PM   #2

Toss a coin and you do as well getting Canon and Panyowners to pick for you. Read Steve's and DPReview reviews if they've reviewed the camera and make up your own mind.

A. C.

ac.smith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 11, 2008, 11:00 AM   #3