Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Nov 29, 2008, 12:00 PM   #1

Hi, I need some advice on pros and cons with these cameras. I just don't know what direction to go in, but have been leaning toward the G1. I'm an amateur with "prosumer" leanings, but have tons to learn about controlling the camera. I've had a couple of classes, but have forgotten much of what I learned...will probably take more, particularly at a nearby botanical garden. My budget would just cover the G1 kit with one lens, around ~$800, but I might be able to add in a couple hundred more for a second lens. I have a graduation and travel coming in a couple of weeks, so need to buy this week, especially if it's an online purchase. No camera store in my area has the G1 in stock, so I can't get my hands on it. I'll eventually end up with the digital SLR (or micro four thirds) along with a newer point and shoot with a good macro.

Here's what I like to shoot and info on my camera habits and physical issues:
- Landscape, especially my garden, I take tons of photos to document my garden. I like to shoot insects, butterflies, and the plants themselves.
- Probably half my photos are macro shots.
- No sports...but waterfowl and birds would be really nice to be able to shoot. We kayak, so a dry box and a decent camera would be wonderful (probably pelican box).
- I have small hands, the N65 fits me comfortably, but bigger Nikons seem heavy.
- I have nerve damage in various spots...in my shoulders and arms, and my hands are not as steady as they used to be. I can't handle a heavy camera for a long time, and the weight around my neck can also be painful. Kneeling and standing back up isn't always easy. I tend to carry a digicam in my purse most of the time. I have a monopod and a tripod.
- I wear glasses, mostly for computer and reading so they are on and off my face a lot.