Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Nov 30, 2008, 5:17 PM   #1

I am a complete newbie. In a perfect world I would get the D60 + 18-200but its too much cash for the foreseeable future. But, I can get a D100 body in excellent shape for free!. So, do I go for the D100 + the 18-200 OR the D60 with the 2 lenses (or the Canon equivalent). Criteria are first, ease of use,second, AF capability, third picture quality.

deaddog is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Nov 30, 2008, 6:56 PM   #2

The D100 was a fine camera, but it's almost 7 years old! When you buy a used camera, you're taking a big chance. The shutters on SLRs have a finite life expectancy, and a 7 year old camera is likely to be close to failing, even if it performs well now.

I'd go with the two lens kit anyway. The two lenses are cheaper and produce better images than the 18-200 VR.

I'd also go with the Canon equivalent. The Nikon D60 doesn't have an internal autofocus motor, so most of Nikon's own lenses won't autofocus on it, and few third party lenses and almost no used lenses will. And if you're on a limited budget, the used lens market is something you want to pay close attention to.

TCav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2008, 8:50 PM   #3