Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Dec 2, 2008, 11:13 PM   #1

Hello all.

I'll be asking a similar question to 1,000 others you've already answered. I'm sorry to be so tedious, but I didn't see specifically what I'm looking for in any of the previous threads. Thanks in advance for your help!

I've been using a Canon S1 IS for a few years, which I believe would fall into the 'point and click' category, with results I've beengrudgingly satisfiedwith up to this point. More specifically, I went from "This camera is awesome!" to "Wow, I can do a lot better..." once I started really trying to get good photos of sporting events. Anyway, it finally hit the floor a little too hard (about 6 times on the stairs) and ceased functioning, so I'm ready to upgrade.

I plan to primarily shootmy kids' sports (baseball, basketball, football, snowboarding) and my own rugby team, as well as the usual family stuff. I've never tried to blow anything up, but I have taken some surprisingly good pictures with what I've known for some time is inadequate for what I'm trying to do.

I'm starting mylimit at $1,000 (+/-), which should include everything I need to really have a good start. After reading a dozen reviews for half-a-dozen cameras, I settled on the Sony A350X (2 lenses, $750, leaving room in the budget for accessories). I won't use the Live View much, but I like the idea of the in-camera stablization because of the expense of future lenses for other brands. Also, I like the feel of the slightly smaller Sony bodies.

I suppose my keyquestions are as follows:

1. Can I accomplish what I want to accomplish with this camera? I've never taken a good picture under the lights of a high school football field, but I hope to one day do so.