Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Dec 12, 2008, 6:32 AM   #1

Hi all,

Which of these 4 cameras is recommended for me? I'm an amateur user, but would like to have manual exposure control. I'd like to use the camera for capturing still life as well as a huge group of people. I may also need to take prints. Ease of use and use in low light is also critical. Please help.

Panasonic Lumix DMC-LX3
Panasonic Lumix DMC-FZ28
Canon PowerShot SX10 IS
Panasonic Lumix DMC-TZ50

Thanks in advance.
srikanth1986 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Dec 12, 2008, 9:34 AM   #2

My top choice would be the Panasonic LX-3. It gives you a very wide angle position (24mm in 35mm terms) which would work well for your groups. However, it has very limited zoom capabilities, going out only to 60mm in 35mm terms. If you can live with the limited zoom capability, it is a great camera. The LX-3 should also be good in low level lighting conditions, as it has an F 2.0 lens. However, I do not have any hands on experience with the camera, so everything that I have listed here is based on my reading only.

The Panasonic FZ-28 is a camera that I do own, and like a lot. It has a 27mm (in 35mm terms) wide angle position and over 500mm (in 35mm terms) of zoom. It handles well and is capable of good low light level shooting at an ISO 800 setting. The image quality on the LX-3 is a bit better than the FZ-28, which would make the FZ-28 my second choice, if zoom capability was not a leading priority for you.

I have attached a no flash/existing light only photo sample from the FZ-28 for your reference. It was taken at ISO 800 using a tungesten white balance setting.

Sarah Joyce
Attached Images
mtclimber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 12, 2008, 9:43 AM   #3