Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Dec 27, 2008, 1:17 PM   #1

So, my Canon Powershot SD550 broke on Christmas Eve, what horrible timing. =(

I figure I might as well use this opportunity to address the two problems I had with my 550, that it had no manual aperture or shutter speed controls and that I frequently couldn't fit everything I wanted in the frame ; that is, it had an overly narrow lens at only 37mm.

I take a lot of landscape photos, so a wide lens is important.

Even though I've only taken one Photo class in high school (I'm a sophomore in college now), I would like to start experimenting with aperture and shutter speed again. I do have a manual film SLR, but it's so large that I honestly don't use it that often. Plus I'm kind of rusty on my aperture and shutter speed so it'd be easier and cheaper to experiment on a point and shoot.

Sadly, it's really hard finding a point and shoot with manual controls. =( Most of them only have exposure settings now with automatic shutter speed now. I thought it was impossible to find a Canon model besides the S80.

So, I am a bit of a Canon loyalist because I think they have the best color reproduction, but I'm certainly open to other brands too. Basically right now it's down to:

- Discontinued but I can still find it
- Around 3 years old, which is kind of....unsettling for a point and shoot maybe?
- 28 to 100 mm range
- Manual Aperture/Shutter Speed controls (as well as automatic shutter speed settings as well?)

Sony Powershot SD 870 (or SD800, I can't see the diff. b/w the two so whichever one is cheaper)
- Newer, so maybe better image quality?
- 28 to 105 mm range
- Image Stabilization
but no Aperture or Shutter controls, just exposure controls

I'm more used to the SD model controls.....honestly, the S80 looks kind of difficult to use with an odd zoom toggle switch.