Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Jan 14, 2009, 8:05 AM   #1

I have been using an olympus c8008 for 4 years. Its a great camera. I shoot lots of macro. Flowers and many times i'll follow an ant for hours. I want a camera I can crop and enlarge more than my 8008. I think I want a slr like canon xsi or pentax k20d. But maybe I cold use another point and shoot. Any thoughts. I do take many landscape and family shots as well.
butcher is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 14, 2009, 8:58 AM   #2

If lighting conditions are OK, you'd probably be better off with a good point and shoot. A DSLR can potentially take better shots than a point and shoot, especially in low light, if you have the right lens for the job and you have the skill to take advantage of the DSLR's abilities. To be able to take the kind of shots you want with a DSLR, you'll need several different lenses - a macro lens, a long zoom lens and perhaps others. A good point and shoot, like the Canon SX10is, will enable you to take all those shots with its built-in lens.
AndyfromVA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 2009, 9:44 AM   #3

There are lots of ways to do macrophotography with a dSLR.

The simplest (and most expensive) is with a macro lens. It is very sharp and can double as a general purpose lens. It can focus from an insect to a landscape scene quite quickly and easily. Since few macro lenses are optically stabilized,doing macrophotography handheld would be best accomplished with astabilized dSLR like Pentax, Sony ormost Olympus bodies.(A noteable exception is the Nikon AF-S VR Micro-NIKKOR 105mm f/2.8G IF-ED.)