Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Feb 3, 2009, 8:57 PM   #1

I've been trying to decide on the Nikon D50 or D80.
D80's better, i know that, but its also more expensive.
What I'm asking is, is it really worth buying the D80?
I'm a beginner photographer, and i wont be taking much professional pictures, just some when I'm bored, or when I'm at parties or on vacation.
Is there a real noticeable difference between the two?

And if not, What about D60?
misohero is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Feb 3, 2009, 9:11 PM   #2

The D50 is a fine camera, 6mp. I owned one from new for two years, using it much the same as you say you will, and it served me well. I felt the need for more mp, as I make 20x30 prints and 10 mp does better in that regard. The D50, unless you are cropping heavily or printing largely, would be a good choice, if you can find a good one with low miles. The D80 has more mp, more "pro" features you may or may not use, is a little newer production, and if you can swing it, a better camera generally. In either case, beware shutter count and any gut feeling about the history of the camera, unless you buy from a reputable on-line vendor. Be careful with E Bay, if you could find one on craigslist, you could physically check it out before buying. Good luck with your decision... Robert

About the D60, for your stated purpose, it would be a fine camera. Lack of in-body focus motor would stop a pro in his tracks, but everyone, including Nikon is making lenses for the D40/40x/60 now, so that's not much of an issue.
Hawgwild is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 4, 2009, 4:45 AM   #3