Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Feb 14, 2009, 11:23 AM   #1

I'm totally new to this fantastic site. I am considering the cameras stated above and would like some of your opinions about which to purchase. I hike quite a bit and would like a camera which I could use for backpacking pictures of landscapes as well as vacation pictures in the mountains of Colorado. I would like to be able to zoom in on wildlife and birds in these scenarios. I was looking at mainly superzoom cameras but the I can get the olympus with two lenses pretty cheap also. I am looking to get something in the $400 dollar range. Please help. Thanks.
phatmoose is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Feb 14, 2009, 11:41 AM   #2

The first thing you need to make a decision about is whether you want a dSLR at all or not. Saying you can afford the E410 and two lenses is only half the story - a dSLR camera will "cost" more in weight, size, and time (having to change lenses etc.). It's a more versatile solution, but if your primary purpose is for hiking - you might not want to make the significant compromises that you do with one. I happily cart around a much heavier dSLR and about 4 or 5 different lenses when I day-hike, but that's a price I'm personally willing to pay for the increased image quality and versatility - not everyone is going to be willing to do that. I tried a Panny FZ30 and decided that I disliked the quality loss more than I disliked the idea of going back to SLR land (I had previously owned a film SLR camera). Many people will make the opposite choice.
mtngal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 14, 2009, 11:47 AM   #3