Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Mar 17, 2009, 8:20 AM   #1

Hey all,

Ive been surfing S-DC's for years. In fact my first camera buy back in 2001 was due to a review from here. And all subsequant purchase's all gained impact from Steve's reviews
Sadly this is the first time that I have ever thought about creating a user on the forum.

Anyhow, I need some advice for my next camera purchase please.
I am a landscape photographer at heart, so the camera will need to be able to take sharp and clear shots. Obviously I also take the odd people photos (So that my family don't get the impression that I am anti-social lol )

At the heart of this purchase however, is my new found hobby of Astronomy and Astro-photography.
The Camera will need to have a long exposure to allow for the best shots of the night sky and stars, as well as the possible adaptation for Telescopes?

I am on a Budget, though I shan't say what it is, to allow for further freedoms in your suggestions. If a range could be supplied that would be excellent. That said, nothing over $2.5k please ^_^

My preferred manufacturer is Nikon followed by Cannon. However, I am fully open to as many opinions and suggestions as possible for the best camera for my needs

Kind regards and thanks in advance,

kliskey is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Mar 17, 2009, 10:55 AM   #2

The best astronomy shots I have seen have been taken by digicams and adapters using telescopes. I have had three ultra zooms (2 Olympus and one Panasonic) and although they are good cameras, you won't get much but the moon with them even with a teleconverter. I suggest you google something like digital camera and astronomy or moon and see what comes up. I know I have seen some impressive shots by people having spent less than $2,500.
robbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 17, 2009, 1:29 PM   #3

Ok, well its shots like these that I would like to achieve.