Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Mar 25, 2009, 11:38 PM   #1

Ok first off I am sorry if this is the wrong place to post my question. But now to my question. I am a high school student that POSSIBLE wants to get into photography. I am going to be taking a class next year that requires at least a point and shoot camera. And like I said I MIGHT(not certain) get into photography and make it a hobby. My main concern is pay $350 and not get into it. If I was going to get a DSLR I would get the Nikon D40. So should I get the DSLR or a point and shoot camera? Thanks in advance!
bsktbll5187 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Mar 26, 2009, 3:06 AM   #2

If you are not sure that photography is really for you, then why not just borrow a camera. Most of us (at least me anyway) have two or three point and shoot cameras sitting around the house and would be glad to loan one out to help someone get started in photography, I'm sure you know someone with an extra camera. If you do have to buy your own camera then a point and shoot would be a good way to go. That way you haven't put to much money out on a camera and if you don't want to continue with photography as a hobby you will still have a camera for taking pictures of family and friends. Of course if you decide to stay with photography as a hobby, you won't care how much is spent on buying new camera gear.
Calicajun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 26, 2009, 4:48 AM   #3

Yeah. That. What he said.
TCav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 26, 2009, 7:52 AM   #4

If I were you I'd check your class requirements. It's very likely that your photography class requires a camera with manual exposure controls. There aren't that many point and shoot cameras with manual exposure controls, other than the ultrazooms and a few expensive non-ultrazoom bridge cameras like the Canon G10 or Panasonic LX3.
AndyfromVA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 26, 2009, 6:20 PM   #5