Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Apr 15, 2009, 7:59 AM   #1

Hello all,

I am in the process of buying my first dslr camera and I have narrowed it down to either Canon 450D or 40D – here in Denmark I can get 450D for about 700 dollars including the 18-55 lens or 1100 dollars including the 17-85 lens and I have gotten the impression that the 18-55 lens might be a bit on the cheap side, right?

And if I'm going for the 17-85 lens then actually I can get the 40D with that for only 1.250 – only 150 dollars more than for the 450D, which makes me think I should choose the 40D.

I work as a journalist and will use the camera in connection with different assignments like travels (including landscapes), interviews, concerts etc. no sports, though. It is primarily the fact that the 450D is lighter that appeals to me (and of course the price difference which however is only relevant if I go with the 18-55 lens) but I don't know if the 250 grams in weight difference will really matter… Any advice here?

I've been to a shop to try holding the cameras, a 450D and then a 50D because they didn't have the 40D but they should be the same size. However the 50D had on a heavier lens than the 17-85. It felt as though the 40D might be a bit easier to hold still and to control – the 450D did feel quite light (even though I'm only used to a P&S Canon Ixus 70).

I would really like to be able to use only one lens – at least for the foreseeable future.

So what do you suggest I do – buy the 450D with 18-55 lens? Or with 17-85? Or buy the 40D with the 17-85 lens?

Thank you in advance for your help – I really appreciate it as this dilemma is starting to drive me nuts!

HHR is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Apr 15, 2009, 10:48 AM   #2