Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Apr 22, 2009, 6:56 AM   #1

Hi Guys

I am fairly new to photography and I really want to get into photgraphing wildlife and landscapes, more the former really. I heard great reviews about Sony's new A350 with kit lens and wondered is this what I should be thinking of buying. I dont want to find out that i should have bought a canon camera on its own with a large telephoto lens (500) instead. I cant trust some of the guys in the mainstream electronics stores as they seem to contradict eachother and perhaps just want a sale. My budget is approx 1600 aussie dollars.

Some of my questions are:

1. Would a 55-200 suffice for wildlife shots until I have the money to but a 500 telephoto lens?

2. Some Bird sites say Canon and Nikon are the only bird cameras worth thinking about - how true is this? I think that this is based onboth of these makes having a large variety of lens whereas with Sony you are more limited? Is this true?

3. What makes of Lens can I use with theA350 and are these reputable lens? Can I get 500 telephoto lens for this camera (A350).

4. What's your overall opinion on what I should buy. Is there anything else I haven't thought about?

Thanks folks

justin Birdman is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Apr 22, 2009, 7:40 AM   #2

Here are some quick answers to your questions.

1. If birds are your thing then no a 200mm lens won't do you much good at all. Even 300mm is going to be a bit short. 400mm is a good starting point for birding - 300 can be OK for animals like deer or squirel but birding is tough with anything short of 400mm.

2. There are4 reasons for Canon & Nikon dominating.

a. The first is marketing- they have more marketing than other manufacturers and thus more clients.