Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old May 4, 2009, 3:53 AM   #1

Hi all,
I am going to by my first DSLR and looking hard for advice on choice.
I have no DSLR experience at all, so far I have used Olympus 770sw - which performs for me very well for rafting/rain/underwater but the picture quality is very far from desired. So I would like to find a camera which I can use for taking awesome pictures when weather conditions permit it. I did a lot of reading on DSLR but still have heavy doubts.
My budget is up to 1200$ including spare battary and lens, and it is looks like I am not able to by any additional lens within next 2-3 years. So price of lens is important part in my consideration.
So what I need:
-A lot of nature/wildlife/macro shots. So telephoto ability is must as well as macro ability
-Ability to stay in borderline weather conditions for DSLR. (I am not going to use it during rain but dast removal should be as good as I can get for these money)
-A lot of shots in very cloudy/dark weather/near night - so high ISO peformance is very desired.
-Ability to shot at least short video
-Relatively light weight - carying about 1.5kg is ok but more than it including accessories is really prohibitive
-Fine battery life/or additional battery price (likely no electricity access for few days)
What I don't need:
-Nice conditions studio shots
-Nice performance with flush/indoors
-Sport shoting (while I do want to catch birds on fly )

For now my choice is very heavy between Canon d500/Nikon5000d/Nikon90d

As I see it for now (from reading reviews so far):
Canon 500d:
+More megapixels/less price/less weight/better video
-Possibly lower ISO performance
+Swivel screen/higher ISO performance
-(more Expensive?) lens
-Swivel potentially makes construction much more fragile
-Prohibitory price (unlikely to buy more lens)/Heavier weight/Poor video focus
+Better IQ/more options/better build? (not sure what is it...)